Fudge Review (2026): Pricing, Features & Honest Verdict
Fudge is a design reference engine for AI coding agents. It searches roughly 10,000 real websites by font, colour, layout and component so your agent builds something that looks designed. We found a clear four-tier ladder and no published usage numbers at all. Best for: developers shipping AI-built sites. Price: free plan, then $9.99/month. Rating: 7/10.
What is Fudge?
Every developer who has asked an AI agent to build a landing page has received the same landing page. Purple gradient, three feature cards, a testimonial row, a call to action. The models have a house style and it is visible from orbit. Fudge exists to break that, and its own tagline states the problem better than we could: build websites that look designed, not generated.
It works by giving your agent something concrete to look at. Fudge holds a searchable library of around 10,000 captured real websites, indexed by industry, page type, layout, font, colour, domain, screenshot and visual direction. Your agent queries it through an MCP server while it is building, pulls references that fit the project, and works from measured design evidence rather than its own priors. It also reviews your existing site and tells you what to change. It launched on Product Hunt on 13 July 2026 at rank 10.
What are Fudge’s key features?
Search by design attribute, not by vibe
The core of the product is the index. You can search captured sites by fonts, colours, components, layouts, page types and visual similarity, which is a different operation from browsing an inspiration gallery. An agent can ask for sites in a specific industry using a specific type of layout, and get answers it can act on. This is what separates Fudge from the many screenshot galleries that already exist.
Website review with a score and ordered fixes
Paste a URL or attach a screenshot and Fudge reviews the page on desktop and mobile, returns a score, an ordered list of fixes and a prompt you can hand straight to your coding agent. Ending a design critique with a ready-to-use prompt is a small touch that reflects how people actually work now, and every plan including free gets the full review.
Output as tokens, themes and DESIGN.md files
Fudge turns captured design data into things a codebase can consume: palettes, font choices, Tailwind v4 themes, CSS variables, design tokens, structured JSON and DESIGN.md files. There is also a free public GitHub library of DESIGN.md files for real websites that anyone can browse without paying. The gap between “here is a nice reference” and “here is a Tailwind theme” is where most inspiration tools stop and this one continues.
MCP access inside your existing agent
Fudge runs as an MCP server, so it works inside Codex, Cursor, Claude Code and anything else that speaks the protocol. You do not leave the conversation to look at a gallery. Note that MCP access is not on every tier, which we cover in the pricing section, and that placement is the most important buying decision the product asks you to make.
A Chrome extension for capturing your own references
You are not limited to the indexed 10,000. A Chrome extension saves sites you find yourself, and you can paste any URL into Fudge chat or ask your agent to inspect it. This matters more than it sounds, because the whole premise is avoiding generic output, and a fixed library used by everyone is a road back to generic output. Being able to feed it the specific competitor you are trying to beat is the feature that keeps the tool useful in month six.
How much does Fudge cost?
Four tiers. Free is $0 and covers complete reviews on your own site every month. Basic is $9.99 a month for regular design work in the web app. Pro is $29 a month and adds MCP access in your AI tools plus DESIGN.md generation. Studio is $99 a month for high-volume work across clients and portfolios. Every plan includes the full review; the paid tiers buy more room each month. Subscriptions can be cancelled at any time and are explicitly non-refundable.
The tier that matters is Pro at $29, because that is where MCP access starts. Fudge’s entire pitch is that your AI agent uses it while building. On Free and Basic you are using a web app and copying things across yourself, which is a materially different product from the one the marketing describes. If you are buying Fudge for the reason Fudge advertises, your real entry price is $29 a month, not $9.99.
Against alternatives this sits reasonably. Mobbin advertises unlimited access to product design references from $2.50 a week, which is roughly $10.83 a month, close to Fudge Basic. Mobbin’s library is curated product screens and user flows; Fudge is websites from the wider web with an agent interface on top. Fudge’s own FAQ makes that comparison itself, and does so fairly.
How much usage do you actually get?
This is the problem with the pricing, and it is a significant one. Fudge publishes four prices and not a single absolute usage number.
The FAQ explains allowances entirely as multiples of each other. Free is “enough to review your own site once a month”. Basic is “for regular work in the web app”. Pro has “10 times Basic’s monthly allowance”. Studio has “50 times Basic’s allowance”. It also notes that a deep multi-page review uses more allowance than a short question, and that allowance resets each calendar month.
Every one of those figures is defined against Basic, and Basic is never defined. Ten times an unknown number is an unknown number. So a buyer cannot answer the only question that matters before subscribing: how many website reviews do I get for $29? We could not answer it either, from the pricing section, the FAQ or the page source.
The variable-cost note makes it worse rather than better. If a deep multi-page review consumes more allowance than a short question, then even knowing the number would not let you plan without also knowing the rate for each operation. Neither is published. Compare that with what a good pricing page does: state the pool, state the rate, let the buyer do the arithmetic. Fudge states neither and asks you to trust a ratio.
Our practical advice is to buy Basic for a month, measure how far the allowance goes on your actual workload, and then decide whether Pro’s ten times is enough. That is a reasonable way to evaluate a $9.99 product. It would not be a reasonable way to evaluate a $99 one, and Studio buyers are being asked to commit on the least information of anyone.
Is a 10,000-site library big enough?
Worth thinking about, because the number cuts both ways. Ten thousand sites is small next to the web and large next to any human’s browsing. For search by attribute, which is what Fudge does, a curated 10,000 with clean metadata beats a messy million, since the value is in the indexing rather than the volume.
The risk is homogenisation. If a meaningful number of developers start building from the same 10,000 references, the output converges again, just on a different average than the model’s default. Fudge’s answer to this is the Chrome extension and URL ingestion, which let you add references nobody else is using, and that answer is the correct one. It does mean the tool rewards people who bring their own taste and gives less to people hoping it will supply taste for them.
We would also note what Fudge stores, because it is more than a screenshot: the page, typography, colours, spacing, layout, media and capture context, plus video and interactions when motion matters. That depth is what makes attribute search work, and it is the strongest technical argument for choosing this over a gallery.
| Plan | Price | Plan Features | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Complete reviews on your own site, monthly allowance not stated | Testing the concept on one site |
| Basic | $9.99/mo | Web app only, no MCP access, base allowance not stated | Individual projects and regular design work |
| Pro | $29/mo | Adds MCP access in your AI tools and DESIGN.md generation, 10x Basic's allowance | Developers building with an AI agent |
| Studio | $99/mo | 50x Basic's allowance, for high volume across clients and portfolios | Agencies and multi-site work |
Who is Fudge best for?
Use Fudge if you build websites with an AI agent and you are not a designer. That is the precise gap it fills, and at $29 a month for MCP access it is cheaper than a single hour of design help. It is also a fair buy for a solo founder shipping a marketing site, or an agency at the Studio tier that needs to produce visually distinct work across many clients without a design team.
Skip Fudge if you are a designer with a point of view. You already have references, you already know why a layout works, and an indexed library will not add much to that. Skip it too if you need to know your exact usage before you commit, because that information is not available at any tier. And if you mainly design product interfaces and user flows rather than marketing websites, Mobbin or Refero are the better libraries, a point Fudge concedes in its own FAQ.
Best Fudge alternatives
Mobbin advertises unlimited access to product design references from $2.50 a week on its own pricing page. It is the strongest curated library for app screens and user flows, and it is a browsing tool for humans rather than a queryable service for agents. If your work is product UI rather than marketing pages, start here.
Refero covers curated product interfaces and flows in the same space as Mobbin. Fudge positions itself as complementary rather than competitive to both, arguing that you keep those libraries for product journeys and use Fudge when you want an agent to inspect a live website in detail. That framing is honest and largely correct.
The free DESIGN.md GitHub library that Fudge itself publishes is a real alternative to paying. It is a public collection of DESIGN.md files for real websites and anyone can browse it. If you want to test whether structured design evidence improves your agent’s output before spending anything, take the free library, feed a file to your agent and see what changes.
Final verdict: is Fudge worth it?
Fudge is a smart product aimed at a problem every AI-assisted developer has and most have stopped noticing. Searching real sites by font, colour and layout rather than browsing a gallery is the right primitive, the MCP integration puts it where the work happens, exporting Tailwind themes and DESIGN.md files closes the loop into code, and the Chrome extension stops the library becoming a new source of sameness. Publishing a free DESIGN.md collection on GitHub is a confident move for a paid product.
The pricing is where it falls down. Four tiers from $0 to $99 with no absolute usage figure anywhere, allowances expressed only as multiples of an undefined Basic, and a note that costs vary by operation without publishing the rates. On top of that, the MCP access the product is sold on starts at Pro, so the advertised experience costs $29 rather than $9.99. Buy Basic, measure what you get, then upgrade with information the vendor should have given you upfront. The product deserves better pricing copy than it has.
Fudge Pros & Cons
What We Like
- Searches around 10,000 real websites by font, colour, component, layout, page type and visual similarity
- Runs as an MCP server inside Codex, Cursor and Claude Code, so the agent queries it while building
- Exports Tailwind v4 themes, CSS variables, design tokens, structured JSON and DESIGN.md files
- Website review returns a score, ordered fixes and a ready-made prompt for your coding agent
- Chrome extension and URL ingestion let you add references outside the shared library
- Publishes a free public GitHub library of DESIGN.md files that anyone can use without paying
What Could Be Better
- No absolute usage figure is published on any tier: Pro is 10x and Studio is 50x an allowance for Basic that is never stated
- Cost per operation varies because a deep multi-page review uses more allowance than a short question, and no rates are published
- MCP access, which is the whole pitch, starts at Pro, so the real entry price is $29 rather than $9.99
- Subscriptions are explicitly non-refundable
- A shared 10,000-site library used by many developers risks producing a new kind of sameness
Fudge FAQ
What is Fudge?
Fudge is a design reference engine for AI coding agents. It holds a searchable library of around 10,000 captured real websites indexed by industry, page type, layout, font, colour, domain, screenshot and visual direction. Your agent queries it through an MCP server while building, so it works from real design evidence instead of its own defaults. It also reviews any URL you give it and tells you what to change.
How much does Fudge cost?
Free is $0, Basic is $9.99 a month, Pro is $29 a month and Studio is $99 a month. Every plan includes the full website review, with paid tiers buying more monthly allowance. The important detail is that MCP access starts at Pro, so if you want your AI agent to use Fudge while it builds, your real entry price is $29 rather than $9.99.
Is Fudge worth it?
Yes if you build websites with an AI agent and you are not a designer, since $29 a month for MCP access costs less than an hour of design help. The reservation is that no tier publishes an absolute usage number, so you cannot tell how many reviews you get before subscribing. Buy Basic, measure what your workload actually consumes, then decide whether Pro is enough.
What are the best Fudge alternatives?
Mobbin advertises unlimited access to product design references from $2.50 a week and is the strongest curated library for app screens and user flows. Refero covers similar curated product interfaces. Fudge itself argues these are complementary rather than competitive, since they are browsing tools for humans while Fudge is a queryable service for agents. Fudge's own free DESIGN.md GitHub library is a way to test the idea at no cost.
Does Fudge offer a free plan?
Yes. The Free plan costs $0 and includes the complete website review, described as enough to review your own site once a month. It does not include MCP access, so your AI agent cannot query it directly. Fudge also publishes a free public GitHub library of DESIGN.md files for real websites, which anyone can browse without an account.
Who is Fudge best for?
Developers who build websites with AI coding agents and do not have a designer, solo founders shipping marketing sites, and agencies at the Studio tier producing visually distinct work across many clients. It is a poor fit for designers who already have references and a point of view, and for anyone who needs to know exact usage limits before committing, since those are not published.






